

For Immediate Release

Contact: Curt Macysyn, executive director (703) 684-3200 ext. 700 CMacysyn@yellowbuses.org July 2, 2024

National School Transportation Association Announces Winners of the 50th Edition of the School Bus Driver International Safety Competition

AUSTIN, TX – On Sunday June 30th, the National School Transportation Association (NSTA) honored several drivers who successfully competed in the 50th Edition of the School Bus Driver International Safety Competition (SBDISC) - presented by Beacon Mobility. A Drivers Awards Banquet was held at the event's host hotel – the Austin Marriott South on Sunday June evening, June 30th, where drivers took a photograph with NSTA President Dan Kobussen, and received a driver's recognition certification and plaque commemorating their participation in the competition.

On Saturday, June 29th, drivers had to go through a competition orientation class, followed by a knowledge (written) test. Then on Sunday, June 30th, the skills competition was held at the Hays CISD Transportation Facility in Uhland, TX, where contestants got behind the wheel and completed a rigorous road course. Bus Drivers competed in one of three categories: Small bus (Type A), Conventional (Type C), or transit (Type D).

This competition offers school bus drivers from across the United States and Canada the opportunity to showcase their knowledge and skills, allowing them to vie for an international title. To be eligible, drivers must compete and win a state or provincial competition in their designated school bus category (small bus, conventional, or transit) within the past year. Drivers must also officially enter the School Bus Driver International Safety Competition in the same bus class that he or she won at the state, regional, or provincial level. Winners are determined by the bus driver having the highest score in the category that he or she competed in.

On Sunday evening, NSTA also honored Bill Loshbough on his serving as chairman of his 50th Safety Competition, as well as saluting Fili Bonilla, outgoing Hays CISD Transportation Director, for his support in bring back the Safety Competition after a four-year hiatus.

NSTA is pleased to announce the following winners, who were acknowledged on Sunday, June 30, 2024, at the NSTA Safety Competition Driver Awards Banquet.

Small Bus (Type A):

First Place: Dorthy Dorman, First Student (KS) Second Place: Claudia Christen, Prairie Bus Lines (ALB) Third Place: Jaimes Gener, First Student (WI)

Conventional Bus (Type C):

First Place: Wanda VanZonnevald, Cherry Creek School District (CO) Second Place: Becky Craig-Johnson, Lakeland Joint School District. (ID) Third Place: Jered Winnestaffer, Community Bus Services (OH)

Transit Bus (Type D):

First Place: Mark Miller, Bellingham Public Schools (WA) Second Place: Luis Lopez, Bakersfield City School District (CA) Third Place: Jeremy Klung, Canyons School District (UT)

NSTA announces Safety Competition Winners

Page Two

"We are pleased that the School Bus Driver International Safety Competition has made its return in 2024, under the leadership of Bill Loshbough. The event allows bus drivers to demonstrate their knowledge and skills with drivers from around North America to determine which drivers are the best in their category. This iconic event provides an opportunity for school transportation to highlight itself in a competitive, but collegial, environment," said NSTA President Dan Kobussen (Kobussen Buses – WI)

Earlier this year, NSTA announced a partnership with Hays CISD, and the site would become the permanent location for the annual Safety Competition. The organization also honored outgoing Hays CISD Transportation Director Fili Bonilla on his impending retirement, and congratulated Cassandra Behr on her appointment to the role – starting on July 1, 2024

"We are grateful for the opportunity to partner with Hays CISD in offering this dynamic event. On behalf of NSTA, I want to thank Fili and Cassandra for their continued leadership and support and congratulate Cassandra on her promotion, and wish Fili well in his retirement," NSTA Executive Director Curt Macysyn concluded.

####

About NSTA: The National School Transportation Association has been the voice of private school bus contractors, vehicle manufacturers, and vendors for 60 years. The association provides school transportation professionals with the tools and resources they need to make school buses safe, affordable, and efficient nationwide.