

## For Immediate Release

Contact: Curt Macysyn, executive director

CMacysyn@yellowbuses.org or (703) 684-3200 ext. 700

July 31, 2023

## National School Transportation Association Announces 2023 Industry Award Winners

**Pittsburgh, PA** - The National School Transportation Association (NSTA) recognized excellence in the private school transportation industry on Tuesday, July 18, 2023 at the organization's annual Awards and Installation Dinner. The dinner was held as part of the 2023 NSTA Annual Meeting and Convention at The Westin – Pittsburgh. Honorees represent all facets of private school transportation operations, and they were lauded for their continued excellence in supporting industry and organizational efforts.

"I want to congratulate this year's NSTA Award Winners, and thank them for their special contributions to pupil transportation. The award winners represent a wonderful cross section of student transportation professionals, and we are proud to honor them," said outgoing NSTA President Carina Noble.

The 2023 National School Transportation Association awards and recipients include:

**Golden Merit Award:** The Golden Merit Award - created in 1969 to recognize excellence in service, safety, and community responsibility. The award recipients include Blaise Bodway (Kobussen Buses), Bobbie Hartman (First Student), Barbie Doherty (First Student), Shawn McGlinchey (Krapf School Bus), Shelly Hall (Student Transportation of America), and Kirk Wilkie (Student Transportation of America).

**Go Yellow, Go Green:** Created in 2008 to recognize a company leader in the school bus industry, who has demonstrated initiative and commitment in pursuing positive responses to growing environmental concerns. Awarded to First Student of Cincinnati, Ohio.

**Committee Member of the Year**: New in 2023, awarded to an individual committee member, who has demonstrated longstanding dedication and support as a member of an NSTA Standing Committee. This year awarded to Bob Ramsdell of National Express (Lisle, IL).

**Committee Chair of the Year:** New in 2023, awarded by the NSTA Executive Committee to honor a committee chairperson, who has exhibited leadership and dedication to NSTA through their committee activities. The 2023 recipient of the award is Chloe Williams of B.R. Williams (Woodstown, NJ).

**Vendor Partner of the Year:** An honor awarded to an NSTA Vendor Partner for commitment to the organization by committee membership, financial support, and providing expertise on important pupil transportation issues. Awarded to Doug Campbell (Safe Fleet/Seon).

**Innovator Award** (Awarded in conjunction with School Transportation News): Recognizes an individual who has made significant, tangible contributions to the industry within the past year as an employee of a school bus contractor company. The 2023 recipient of the award is Bill Griffiths of Beacon Mobility.

**Contractor of the Year Award** (Awarded in conjunction with School Transportation News): Awarded to an NSTA contactor member company in recognition for service excellence, company culture, and leadership. Awarded to First Student of Cincinnati, Ohio.

2023-07-31B | 7502.5 Page 1 of 2

**Outstanding Driver Service Award:** This honor is awarded to school bus driver(s) who have demonstrated exemplary safety performance and a commitment to excellence. The 2023 recipients of the award are Barb Moore (Benjamin Bus), Carlton Murray (North America Central), and Monica Solis (North America Central).

**NSTA Hall of Fame:** Induction into the NSTA Hall of Fame recognizes excellence in long-term efforts on behalf of the student transportation industry. The 2023 NSTA Hall of Fame inductee was John Benish, Jr. of the Cook-Illinois Corporation (IL).

Additionally, Carina Noble (National Express) was honored with a gavel plaque of appreciation highlighting her two-year term as president of the Association. NSTA also announced the 2024 Annual Meeting and Convention will be held in Nashville, TN from July 21 through July 24, 2024 with the J.W. Marriott serving as the host hotel.

"In Pittsburgh, NSTA continued its proud tradition of highlighting the exemplary work of several worthy student transportation professionals. These individuals earned the recognition they received from their peers, and they were celebrated at our awards banquet. I'd like to take this opportunity to congratulate our award winners, and thank all of our volunteers who make NSTA what it is today," said NSTA Executive Director Curt Macysyn.

## ###

**About NSTA:** The National School Transportation Association has been the voice of private school bus contractors, manufacturers, and suppliers since 1964. The association provides school transportation professionals with the tools and resources they need to make school buses safe, affordable, and efficient nationwide.

## NOTE – Photographs attached

- 1. Blaise Bodway of Kobussen Buses) (left) receives NSTA Golden Merit Award from Banquet co-Emcee Chloe Williams.
- 2. Banquet co-Emcee John Benjamin (left) presents Bobbie Hartman (First Student) with NSTA Golden Merit Award.
- 3. Chloe Williams (left) receives NSTA Committee Chair of the Year Award from NSTA Executive Director Curt Macysyn.
- 4. Doug Campbell (Safe Fleet) Recipient of the Vendor Partner of the Year Award.
- 5. John Benish, Jr. (Cook-Illinois Corp.) receives NSTA Hall of Fame plaque from Banquet co-Emcee Chloe Williams.